Fairly new to MIDI, what is a sensible setup?

Home Forums Support Fairly new to MIDI, what is a sensible setup?

This topic contains 12 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Avatar of Thomas Thomas 5 years, 7 months ago.

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    prndrsn
    Participant

I am fairly new to MIDI, and I would like a recommendation on what routing and clock settings would make the most sense for my purposes.

Here’s my current setup:

* Focusrite Scarlett 2i4. Has one MIDI input, one output.
    * Reason 8. Hardware instruments are represented by a virtual MIDI interface in the rack. Reason has 4 MIDI buses with, IIRC, 32 channels each. MIDI in on a Reason bus/channel is routed to a virtual interface and passed on to the hardware.
    * Nektar Panorama P4 master keyboard. Has MIDI over USB and regular MIDI in/out/through.
    * Novation Bass Station II. Has MIDI over USB and regular MIDI in/out
    * BCR2000 with Zaquencer controlling Bass Station II and Reason software synths. Has MIDI in/out/through as you all know.

Now, I have everything set up in a way that works as far as everything receiving notes, but it’s likely not the most optimal configuration and clock is probably not configured properly. I still only have a rudimentary grasp on MIDI outside of getting signal A to point B.

So my question is; How should I set this up in a way that makes the most sense? Outside of optimal routing and clock settings in general, there are a few things in particular I would like to achieve:

* Have the Zaquencer respond to start/stop messages from the master keyboard/Reason.
    * Have the Zaquencer BPM slaved to Reason BPM settings.
    * If possible, maybe be able to automate some Zaquencer parameter settings from Reason.